top of page

Engagement Session on the Potomac

Carly and I have been friends throughout college, and she recently got engaged to the love of her life! Shea proposed at Carly's family home in Maryland where Carly grew up in the most special way. Since they got engaged, I have been dying to take their portraits, but it was hard to coordinate getting to DC (where they both live now) from Charlotte. However, over Christmas time, I was in Richmond, VA staying with my parents when Carly texted me asking for advice on how her brother should take their photos for their Save The Dates. I think my response was something along the lines of "On an iPhone!?!?! Hell no. Let's meet somewhere between Baltimore and Richmond and I will take them." So we did exactly that.


I scoured Google Earth to find a park somewhere in between, on the water, facing west, so we could catch a good sunset. I found the perfect looking place, and we planned to meet there at 4 PM. Well, northern VA traffic had other ideas because as soon as I hit the road, my ETA turned into 5 PM. So while sitting in stand still traffic, I frantically searched Google again for another park that was closer to me so that I could make it in time. I blindly found Leesylvania State Park, and hoped for the best. I rolled in around 4:10 and followed the sun to a perfect small beach on the river, facing west, as the sun was about to set. Carly and Shea were 2 minutes behind me and we spent the next hour taking photos, belly-laughing, and talking about how we couldn't believe we pulled this off.


I am so happy for Carly and Shea and can't wait for their wedding in September! I know it is going to be beyond perfect.




bottom of page